Guggenheim Museum Nixes Intently Watched $100,000 Hugo Boss Prize

The Guggenheim Museum in New York will now not award the distinguished Hugo Boss Prize, the museum instructed ARTnews Friday. The closely-followed biennial award has elevated the profile of quite a few artists and comes with a $100,000 financial prize and sometimes an exhibition on the museum.

The Hugo Boss Prize was established in 1996 by the Guggenheim Museum in partnership with the style model Hugo Boss to honor “excellent achievement in modern artwork, celebrating the work of exceptional artists whose practices are among the many most progressive and influential of our time,” in response to the museum’s web site.

Associated Articles

In an archival photo, a person

The award has been given to 13 artists since its founding and it has catapulted artists already on the prime of the sport to even additional heights within the artwork world. The winners for the prize have been Matthew Barney (1996), Douglas Gordon (1998), Marjetica Potrč (2000), Pierre Huyghe (2002), Rirkrit Tiravanija (2004), Tacita Dean (2006), Emily Jacir (2008), Hans-Peter Feldmann (2010), Danh Vo (2012), Paul Chan (2014), Anicka Yi (2016), Simone Leigh (2018), and Deana Lawson (2020). Lawson’s win, introduced in October 2020, was thought-about main on the time as she was the primary photographer to win the award.

Every of these artists was chosen from a shortlist of different artists. These rosters have been usually star-studded, together with artists like Cecilia Vicuña, Kevin Beasley, Cai Guo Qiang, Laurie Anderson, Maurizio Cattelan, Vito Acconci, Tino Sehgal, Damián Ortega, Patty Chang, Camille Henrot, Laura Owens, Wu Tsang, Teresa Margolles, and Ralph Lemon, who was announced as the winner of the Whitney Museum’s $100,000 Bucksbaum award earlier this week.

Simply as with the artists, the jury for the prize through the years has been equally star-studded, with a few of the world’s most influential curators making the ultimate determination, together with Bisi Silva, Hans-Ulrich Obrist, Okwui Enwezor, Robert Rosenblum, Christopher Y. Lew, and Naomi Beckwith, the lately appointed chief curator of the Guggenheim. The museum’s former creative director and chief curator Nancy Spector chaired the jury for every version of the prize.

When requested by ARTnews when the subsequent awarding of the prize could be given, a spokesperson for the Guggenheim Museum mentioned, “The Hugo Boss Prize will now not proceed. The Solomon R. Guggenheim Basis is honored to have collaborated with HUGO BOSS because the Prize’s inception in 1996, to award artists who embrace right this moment’s most progressive and critically related cultural currents. On the conclusion of this generative venture, we’re grateful to Hugo Boss for his or her long-standing help, and for the various progressive exhibitions, catalogues, and public packages which have grown from the prize platform, which have made an indelible affect on the establishment through the years.”

In an announcement despatched to ARTnews, Beckwith added, “The world was nowhere close to as enamored of artwork, as it’s now, earlier than the arrival of the Hugo Boss Prize. I imagine that the Prize was a part of the ascendancy of up to date artwork as a significant a part of programming in all main museums. It allowed the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum to carry modern artwork to a broader viewers and, as such, make artwork an even bigger a part of a worldwide cultural and social dialog that you simply see in style, music, cinema, and social media now. We’re in a wholly in a different way panorama now.”

A request for remark from ARTnews to Hugo Boss was not instantly returned.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.